Music News

Here are the Mercury Music Prize judges and we’re pretty doomed

Here are the Mercury Music Prize judges and we’re pretty doomed
The Mercury Music Prize celebrates the best albums of the past year and it’s always been a strange mixture in a world which needs strange mixtures. Okay, sometimes it looks like box ticking and very few people are ever happy with the winners but… oh yeah, the winners.
Those are picked by a jury, and the panel for the 2018 award is out. The thing is, it’s not very inspiring. In fact it looks awful. Here we go:
Clara Amfo – broadcaster and DJ
Danielle Perry – broadcaster and writer
Ella Eyre – musician and songwriter
Harriet Gibsone – deputy editor, The Guardian Guide
Jamie Cullum – musician and songwriter
Jeff Smith – head of music, 6 Music and Radio 2
Lianne La Havas – musician and songwriter
Marcus Mumford – musician and songwriter
Mike Walsh – head of music, Radio X
MistaJam – DJ and broadcaster
Phil Alexander – creative director, Kerrang!/contributing editor, Mojo
Will Hodgkinson – chief rock and pop critic, The Times.
So let’s drill into that. We actually like Marcus Mumford in a world that doesn’t, but are you seriously telling me Jamie Cullum, Lianna La Havas, Ella Eyre and a man billed as working for Radio 2 are going to represent anything other than beige? This merely reinforces the Mercury prize as leaning towards trendy middle class lounge table fodder.
The award will be announced September 20th. 

Previous Story

London’s Night Tsar tries to apologise...

It looked a good idea: a London Mayor appointing someone dedicated to saving the destruction of nightlife in the face of...

Next Story

Here are the Mercury Prize nominees

So the nominees for the 2018 Mercury Music Prize are out and… it feels to us like there’s more high profile...